How to Make Avocado Ink

work inprogress in blog form.jpg

When an artist friend showed me her avocado ink painting a year ago, my artistic life was absolutely transformed!  Avocados play a major role in our home.  I have avocados in my morning smoothie, my lunchtime sandwich and we have guacamole once a week for Taco Tuesday! I have an abundance of empty shells and stones (pits) so I am constantly creating new ink for my paintings. Creating avocado ink is very simple and I often create a batch as I am preparing meals or cleaning the kitchen.

46011098_1212020345634734_7913503016978743296_nSupplies:

large cooking pot
large spoon
water
avocado stones and empty shells (the more stones and shells, the stronger the colour)
fine mesh strainer
small paper samples
whole cloves
mason jar with lid

Preparation:

Scrub all the green avocado remains off the stones and shells (I find that using my finger nails works the best).

Fill your pot with all of your cleaned stones and shells and then cover with water.

pot of stones adn shells

Bring to a boil and then reduce the heat to a simmer. After about 20-40 minutes, the water will begin to change colour from clear to pink to a reddish brown. I like to stir the contents occasionally. The skins will begin to come off the stones.

Use a tiny piece of paper to test the colour and when you are satisfied, strain your ink with a fine mesh strainer.  Inevitably bits of shell will make its way into your ink, but I love the texture and authenticity that it provides in my paintings.

ink samples not square.jpg

I store my ink in mason jars in the fridge and you can also help preserve the ink by adding a clove to the sealed jar.

cloves.jpg

Each batch that you make will produce a slightly different shade of pink depending on how many stones and shells that you use. Have fun experimenting and be sure to label each batch with a colour sample and date. Try a batch with just one stone and shell, or just stones, or adding less water or simmering for different lengths of time. You can also freeze the stones and shells if you aren’t able to make the ink right away.

Have fun creating your own ink!

 

finished piece for kristen.jpg

 

3 thoughts on “How to Make Avocado Ink

  1. Super cool
    I have an avocado warehouse across the street
    They throw hundreds of spoiled avocados away
    I’ve been scanning the internet for ideas
    I can’t stand this wastage
    I am very interested in this process
    Can you dye material with this recipe
    Thanks so much
    Lynda

Leave a comment